The Prospector News

AME BC Announces 2012 Award Recipients

You have opened a direct link to the current edition PDF

Open PDF Close

Share this news article

AME BC Announces 2012 Award Recipients




Leaders in Mineral Exploration and Mine Development to Be Recognized at January 30 Gala


The Association for Mineral Exploration British Columbia (AME BC) is pleased to announce the 2012 recipients of its annual awards presented to individuals or teams for significant contributions to the mineral exploration industry.





“It gives me great pleasure to announce our 2012 award recipients,” said Michael McPhie, Chair of the Board of AME BC. “This year’s recipients are true leaders and ambassadors of our industry.”




AME BC’s awards are named in honour of industry leaders who made transformative contributions to mineral exploration and development and to the progress of AME BC through advocacy and service. These awards are presented annually at Mineral Exploration Roundup, the world’s premier mineral exploration conference.





The Awards Dinner will be held at 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, January 30, 2013 during Mineral Exploration Roundup, “Resources for Life: Digging Deeper”, held January 28-31 at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver.





This year’s recipients are as follows:





Rob Carne, Bill Wengzynowski and Doug Eaton are the recipients of the H.H. “Spud” Huestis Award for excellence in prospecting and mineral exploration. They are recognized for their roles in the recent discovery and development of the Rackla Gold Belt in east-central Yukon.





David Fawcett, Mark Fields and Gary Livingstone are the recipients of the E. A. Scholz Award for excellence in mine development. They are acknowledged for their key roles in developing new coal mines in northeastern British Columbia.





Eric Sprott is the recipient of the Murray Pezim Award for perseverance and success in financing mineral exploration. As a leader in mineral exploration financing, he is recognized for his support of small venture explorers, often as the critical lead order or as key support in challenging markets.




Joseph Brunet, Jonathan Fowler, Don Boucher, Alex van Zyl and Brad Wood are the recipients of the Hugo Dummett Award for excellence in diamond exploration and development. They are acknowledged for their perseverance and technical expertise in exploration that led to the development of the Victor diamond mine in Ontario.





Michael Gunning and Alistair McCready are the recipients of the Colin Spence Award for excellence in global mineral exploration. They are recognized for the discovery, resource development and expansion of the Roughrider uranium deposit in Saskatchewan.





Gordon Maxwell is the recipient of the David Barr Award for leadership and innovation in mineral exploration health and safety. He is acknowledged for his dedication to the health and safety of all personnel in the industry, particularly in his involvement with the Canadian Diamond Drilling Association.





Teck Resources Limited is the recipient of the Robert R. Hedley Award for excellence in social and environmental Responsibility. Teck is recognized for its commitment to community and environment that has grown in lockstep with its business ventures. 





The Frank Woodside Past Presidents Distinguished Service Award is awarded to journalist and author Vivian Danielson for her service to AME BC.





AME BC also recognizes Robert Stevens with the Gold Pan Award for his service to the mineral exploration community through his work with the association. AME BC will also honour the Greater Vancouver Mining Women’s Association with a Special Tribute for its continued participation and creative initiatives focused on mineral resources education, the role of women in the mining industry and fundraising.





Finally, AME BC has awarded Outreach Education Funding to The Mineral Resources Education Program of BC and the Britannia Mine Museum.




For more details about the awards, visit



About AME BC:




AME BC is the predominant voice of mineral exploration and development in British Columbia. Established in 1912, AME BC represents almost 5,000 members including geoscientists, prospectors, engineers, students, exploration and mining companies and suppliers who are engaged in mineral exploration and development in BC and throughout the world.





AME BC annually hosts guests from around the world during the annual Mineral Exploration Roundup conference that takes place every January. Now in its 30th year, Roundup attracts thousands of delegates who share technical and financial information about the industry and learn about leading practices in environmental stewardship, aboriginal and community engagement. Mineral Exploration Roundup 2013 will be held from January 28 to 31, 2013 at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver.

Posted December 5, 2012

Share this news article


MAG Silver Reports Second Quarter Financial Results

MAG Silver Corp. (TSX:MAD) (NYSE American: MAG) announces the Com... READ MORE

August 12, 2020

Outcrop Intercepts 0.4 Metres of 37 Grams Gold Per Tonne and 1,220 Grams Silver Per Tonne in new Megapozo Discovery

Outcrop Gold Corp.(TSX-V: OCG) (OTCPK: MRDD.F) (DE: MRG1)&n... READ MORE

August 12, 2020

Liberty Gold Announces Closing of the Sale of the Halilağa Porphyry Copper Gold Deposit in Turkey, and Receipt of US$6,000,000 Cash Payment

Liberty Gold Corp. (LGD-TSX) is pleased to announce the closing o... READ MORE

August 12, 2020

Northern Vertex Intercepts High Grade Mineralization of 21.8 GPT Gold & 211.48 GPT Silver Over 6.1 Meters, Including 69.3 GPT (2.02 OZ) Gold & 716 GPT Silver Over 1.5 Meters at Moss Mine, Arizona

Northern Vertex Mining Corp. (TSX-V: NEE)(OTC Nasdaq... READ MORE

August 12, 2020

Erdene Closes $20 Million Financing to Advance Exploration and Development of the Khundii Gold District Led by $15 Million Strategic Investment From Eric Sprott

Erdene Resource Development Corporation(TSX:ERD) (MSE:ERDN)... READ MORE

August 12, 2020

Copyright 2020 The Prospector News - Site design by Spyderbaby Productions