The Prospector News

AME Announces 2020 Award Recipients

You have opened a direct link to the current edition PDF

Open PDF Close

Share this news article

AME Announces 2020 Award Recipients






Leaders in Mineral Exploration and Development will be recognized at AME’s Awards Gala to be held virtually in Spring 2021



The Association for Mineral Exploration is proud to announce its 2020 Celebration of Excellence Award recipients. AME’s annual awards gala is a prestigious event recognizing leaders for their significant efforts and contribution to the mineral exploration and development industry. The 2020 AME Awards Gala will be held virtually in Spring 2021.


This year’s award recipients are:


  • Dr. C.J. (“Charlie”) Greig is the recipient of the AME 2020 H.H. “Spud” Huestis Award for significant contributions to enhancing the mineral resources of BC and/or the Yukon Territory. As the VP Exploration of GT Gold Corp., Charlie led the exploration team that discovered the Saddle copper-gold and gold-silver deposits on the company’s Tatogga Property. Charlie is renowned for advancing mineral exploration projects with efficiency and professionalism.
  • Lukas H. Lundin is the recipient of the AME 2020 Murray Pezim Award for significant contributions to the mineral exploration and mining community by a financierLukas is recognized for his perseverance fortitude and capital markets proficiency in the mining sector. Throughout his 40-year career, Lukas has raised over $23 billion CAD and in 2006, formed the Lundin Foundation, a non-profit organization with a mission to invest in people and communities in need.
  • Fraser MacCorquodale and Callum Baxter are the recipients of the AME 2020 Colin Spence Award for excellence in global mineral exploration. Their discovery and fast track exploration at the Havieron Project, located in Western Australia was made possible due to the tireless efforts and knowledge of Callum, and an aggressive exploration campaign using the latest targeting technology led by Fraser.
  • Justin Himmelright is the recipient of the AME 2020 Robert R. Hedley Award for excellence in social and environmental responsibility. Justin has shown leadership in putting social and environmental values up front through the launch of the Skeena Tahltan Mentorship Program, his advocacy of the BC Regional Mining Alliance, and the development of a UBC graduate level course: “Mining and Indigenous Peoples of Canada.”
  • Andy Randell is the recipient of the AME 2020 Special Tribute Award for service to the British Columbia minerals industry. Andy is a founder of the non-profit society, Below BC, which provides public outreach and educational opportunities. He is a dedicated mentor of earth science students, and in 2019 created the Virtual Mineral Museum which is now used by many post-secondary institutions.
  • Dave Green is the recipient of the AME 2020 David Barr Award for his leadership in health and safety in mineral exploration. Over 30 years, Dave has trained and mentored young Indigenous workers to operate safely and efficiently, many of whom are thriving as miners, mechanics, drillers and geotechnicians.
  • Steve Irwin is the recipient of the AME 2020 Frank Woodside Gold Pan Award for distinguished volunteer service to AME resulting in a profound impact on the success or direction of the Association. For 22 years, Steve has been a committed volunteer of AME’s Roundup Organizing Committee and has been integral to shaping the conference through its many transformations.
  • MineralsEd and Britannia Mine Museum are the recipients of AME’s Outreach Education Fund supporting well-established Education Programs related to mineral exploration and development.


View more information about the award recipients in the Full Backgrounder and Citations.


Rob McLeod, Chair of the AME Board of Directors, commented On behalf of the Board of AME, we congratulate all of this year’s well-deserving recipients. Two of our incredible directors, Andy Randell and Justin Himmelright, are examples of members that are making a real and tremendous impact on our society.  I would also like to acknowledge the legendary Lukas H. Lundin – one of the best that the global mining industry has ever seen.  We are fortunate to have Newcrest winners Fraser MacCorquodale and Callum Baxter establish a very active presence exploring in British Columbia. MineralsEd and Britannia Mine Museum are two excellent examples of active outreach of our industry, continuing to educate despite challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic.  Over the decades, Steve Irwin has spread his talent and volunteered considerable time to AME, particularly in organizing our very successful annual AME Roundup Conference.  Finally, I would like to personally acknowledge my legendary friends, Charlie Greig and Dave Green for their respective awards and all that they’ve contributed to our industry throughout their respective careers.”


About AME


AME is the lead association for the mineral exploration and development industry based in British Columbia. Established in 1912, AME represents, advocates and promotes the interests of almost 5,000 members who are engaged in mineral exploration and development in BC and globally. AME encourages a safe, economically strong and environmentally responsible industry by providing clear initiatives, policies, events and tools to support its membership in delivering responsible projects that advance reconciliation and provide benefit to all British Columbians.


Posted December 17, 2020

Share this news article


Silver Viper Closes Additional Tranche of Private Placement

Silver Viper Minerals Corp.  (TSX-V: VIPR) (OTC: VIPRF) is plea... READ MORE

March 25, 2023

G2 Goldfields Closes C$13.8 Million Bought Deal Public Offering

G2 Goldfields Inc. (TSX-V: GTWO) (OTCQX: GUYGF) is pleased to ann... READ MORE

March 25, 2023

Collective Metals Announces Closing of Non-Brokered Private Placement of Units

Collective Metals Inc. (CSE: COMT) is pleased to announce that th... READ MORE

March 24, 2023

Laramide Resources Ltd. Announces Results from the Diamond Drilling Program at its Crownpoint-Churchrock Uranium Project, New Mexico, U.S.A.

Laramide Resources Ltd. (TSX: LAM) (ASX: LAM) (OTCQX: LMRXF) is p... READ MORE

March 24, 2023

Marathon Gold Announces 2022 Fourth Quarter and Year-End Results

Marathon Gold Corporation (TSX: MOZ) announces its financial resu... READ MORE

March 24, 2023

We acknowledge the [financial] support of the Government of Canada.

Government of Canada Supported
Copyright 2023 The Prospector News